LCF News

Award Nominees Announced

4th Mar 2011

Comedians and venues who took part in Leicester Comedy Festival 2011 have been announced as nominees in the annual awards organised to celebrate the event.  Nominees include comedians Mark Olver, Matt Green, David Morgan, Alfie Brown and George Ryegold.  Venues which have been recognised for their contribution to the event include The Crumblin' Cookie, The Criterion, Curve, The Exchange Bar and Firebug.  The awards, set up in 2006, recognise the contribution people make to the February festival and include awards for Best Debut Show, Best Venue, Best New Venue, Best Make Me Happy community project and Contribution to Leicester Comedy Festival 2011.  Winners will be announced at a private ceremony, hosted by comedian Tom Allen, taking place at The Pub, Leicester on Monday 14th March.  

Leicester Comedy Festival 2011 took place from 4-20th February and featured over 370 events in 50 venues across Leicester and Leicestershire.  Over 500 performers appeared and audiences flocked from across the UK to the event, the longest running comedy festival in Europe.  Sell out shows included David Morgan, Asian Persuasion, Idiots of Ants, Jimmy Carr, Micky Flanagan, Mark Thomas, Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year Competition, Kitty Cointreau’s BraHaHa, Jon Richardson, Sarah Millican, Milton Jones, Mark Steel, Ceri Dupree, Chris Boyd, Josh Widdicombe, Comedy In The Dark, Iain Stirling & Sean McLouglin, Foolhardy Comedy Showcase, Mark Smith & Rhys Jones, John Robins , Andi Osho, Isy Suttie, Alun Cochrane, Andy Zaltzman, Simon Evans & Bottle Rocket at Loughborough Town Hall.

This year the majority of the awards have been decided by a group of members of the public who applied to become judges.  9 comedy fans were selected to see over 300 shows and visit venues across Leicester and Leicestershire in order to decide the winners.  The judges will help present the awards at the ceremony, along with special guests and VIPs.

Leicester Comedy Festival are once again working with Leicester City Council’s Environmental Sustainability Team to present an award to the venue with the lowest carbon footprint.  The Green Room award has been presented for the past 2 years and is a part of the festival’s “Greening The Laughs” programme.  The programme, supported by Leicester City Council, De Montfort University and The National Forest, includes the planting of trees in the “Comedy Wood”.  Previous winners have included The Belmont Hotel and Hotel Maiyango.

Chair of the Awards Panel, Louise Smith, said:

"The judges had a great time during Leicester Comedy Festival, each of us seeing around 40 shows across the 17 days. The final meeting to decide the nominations was exciting and we're delighted to announce the nominees.  The standard of acts at the festival was really impressive and we now looking forward to announcing the winners on 14th March."

Leicester Comedy Festival Director, Geoff Rowe, said:

“Our Awards have become an important part of the comedy calendar, recognising those who take part and contribute so much to Leicester Comedy Festival.  Without the support of performers, venues and community groups we wouldn’t be able to deliver the annual event.  We can’t wait to open the gold envelopes at the ceremony to find out who has won”

The full list of nominees is:

Best New Venue:

The Exchange Bar

Upper Brown Street

Best Venue:

The Criterion

The Crumbin Cookie

The Y



Best New Show

Mark Olver: Portrait of a Serial Killer

Matt Green: Funny Times

David Morgan: Triple Threat

Alfie Brown: The Love You Take

Vikki Stone & The Flashbacks


Best Show

George Ryegold: The Ordeal of Dr Ryegold

Nick Helm: Keep Hold of the Gold

Stuart Goldsmith: The Reasonable Man


Terry Saunders: Six & A Half Loves

Contribution to LCF11:

Antony King for Leicestershire Stands Up

Citizens Eye

Bruce Edhouse, Roo Peake for Midas & The Exchange Bar

Make Me Happy community project:

Dave Cross at Knighton Fields Centre

Writing School Leicester

Gujarati Comedy Group

The Green Room Award:

O2 Academy


Hotel Maiyango

De Montfort Hall

< Back to News Listing